Sword with text-page-001


The Mysteries of Stickleback Hollow


When her parents die from fever, Lady Sarah Montgomery Baird Watson-Wentworth has to leave India, a land she was born and raised in, and travel to England for the first time.

Finding it almost impossible to adjust to London society, Sarah flees to the county of Cheshire and the country estate of Grangeback that borders the village of Stickleback Hollow.

A place filled with oddballs, eccentrics and more suspicious characters than you can shake a stick at, Sarah feels more at home in the sleepy little village than she ever did in the big city, however, even sleepy little villages have mysteries that must be solved.

A Thief in Stickleback Hollow: Book 1

A break-in at Grangeback, the assault on Bosworth the butler, the theft of Sarah's jewellery and rifling through the possessions of her late father lead Sarah to believe that there is more to the crime than an interrupted burglary and that there is something more nefarious afoot. The newly formed police force is still finding its feet, so Sarah must investigate on her own to find out what is going on in this new place she might call home.

All Hallows' Eve in Stickleback Hollow: Book 2

It's All Hallows' Eve in Stickleback Hollow and the annual ball at Tatton Park is being held. It is Sarah's first formal engagement since leaving London, and she isn't looking forward to it - especially when the people she thinks of as friends are not invited. The veil between the spirit and living worlds is at its thinnest, and evil forces seem to be lurking everywhere.

Mr. Daniel Cooper of Stickleback Hollow: Book 3

Though Stickleback Hollow is still reeling after the events of All Hallows' Eve, time marches on, and a new arrival in Stickleback Hollow marks a change in Lady Sarah's prospects. Are Mr. Daniel Cooper's intentions towards Sarah as innocent as they seem, or is there something more sinister afoot?

The Day the Circus came to Stickleback Hollow: Book 4

Excitement reigns in Stickleback Hollow as the circus comes to entertain the madding crowds, but a rash of burglaries bring the circus performers into the path of Constable Arwyn Evans. Are the transient performers to blame for the thefts or is there someone else with more sinister motives waiting in the wings?

A Bonfire Surprise in Stickleback Hollow: Book 5

It’s March and the Grand Tournament is upon Stickleback Hollow. Reverend Percy Butterfield is thrilled to see cricket returning to the village and the best that Lancashire, Yorkshire and Staffordshire have to offer to the village cricketing world are all coming to vie for the title of champion.  But something is not right in Stickleback Hollow, items are still missing and there is a familiar face lurking in the shadow that could spell trouble for Sarah, Arwyn and Alex.

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Die: Book 6

When Old Woakes is found dead in his home, the village of Stickleback Hollow finds itself rocked to its very foundations – especially when more bodies start to fall. With foul murder afoot, all evidence points to Lady Sarah as the culprit. Is Lady Sarah responsible for the brutal murders she stands accused or can Constable Evans, Miss Read, Mr. Hunter and Miss Roy find another explanation for the murders before Lady Sarah is marched to the gallows.

What Became of Henry Cartwright: Book 7

The Opium Wars have begun, but matters of gunboat diplomacy also require the services of more than soldiers to see them through. Though things in Stickleback Hollow are somewhat quieter than the residents have become used to, things in China are far from peaceful.  Alex and Sarah are making decisions about their future, whilst in China Miss Baker, Brigadier Webb-Kneelingroach, Captain Jonnes Smith and Countess Szonja are faced with the trials of serving secretive masters and trying to discover what became of Henry Cartwright.

The March of the Berry Pickers: Book 8

This book is now avaiable for pre-order and is due for release on 19th November 2018

12 Days of Christmas in Stickleback Hollow (Charity volume)

The 12 days of Christmas in Stickleback Hollow are 12 short stories that take place over the 12 days of Christmas in the small village, which is the home of so many mysteries. Each of the stories follows different characters from the series and do not play a part in the overall story arc. This particular book has been put together to raise money for two charities – The Broad Appeal and the Trent Bridge Community Sports Trust. As so many of the characters are named after cricketers, it seemed only fitting to use this charity book to raise money for two charities connected with the sport.